Home is where the heart is

As my last day in Cordoba came near, I couldn’t help but feel sad. I must admit that I was getting used to the city and that things around town weren’t as exciting and new anymore. However, the first thing I came to realize was that my whole time and experience in Cordoba was nothing but gratifying. There wasn’t a single moment where I wasn’t smiling or a weekend where I didn’t meet someone new.

On my homestay:

My host mom Andrea was more than a great host. She really worried about Monique and I’s well being as well as tried to give us advice on any personal issues. It only took her about a week to know who we were, what we liked, and what we didn’t like. She picked up quickly that I am the type of person who likes to be alone at times but at the same time, don’t want to make anyone upset by passing up an offer. I’ll never forget her genuine advice: in life, we need to ultimately do what makes us happy even if it means doing something else than what others want. If we don’t then we may end up ultimately regretting or missing out on doing & seeing things we like.

I also enjoyed how much she valued family. About every day there was at least one of her family members or family friends over. When we first arrived, our dinner table consisted of 9 people, a baby, and a toddler. At first, I was confused because I was told that the only other person she lives with is her daughter, Luciana. But after meeting them I understood she had her cousin and his husband over (a couple from Mendoza), her brother and his family (wife, and two kids), and her other brother and his friend making us a total of 9. The couple from Mendoza stayed with us for about a week and we even got to celebrate Lucia’s (the cousin) birthday as a family!

IMG_1513

Celebrating Lucia’s birthday en la casa de Andrea!

The week after that, we had Andrea’s brother’s family stay over. He had a cute son who was 1 years old names Jeremias and a 4-year-old daughter named Luna! They were such an adorable and fun pair that I couldn’t help but play with them after work and before dinner every day! They were such a big part of my homestay experience that they even got to be in my facetime sessions with my friends and family.

IMG_1739

Facetime session with my best friend, Elena, with Luna joining in!

photo 1

Jeremias and I facetiming my mom 🙂

photo 4

Jeremias playing with my mom on facetime

photo 3

Luna showing my mom her barbie plate

After the two weeks, they would still visit but it wasn’t the same as living with them and coming home to them after my hospital shift or Spanish classes. I missed seeing Luna watch Sleeping Beauty at 2 am or her waking me up to open the Dulce de Leche bottle for her. Then the following week we had another of her brother’s family stay over to help their oldest daughter Lucia move in for med school. And occasionally there was a family friend who would come over for cena (dinner.)

There was never a dull moment at home and it never felt lonely as it did in Bolivia since her family was warm and welcoming! Andrea really taught me the importance, the value, and the role that family plays in the traditional Argentinian culture

Leave a Reply

